Your Letters & Pictures

'The righ call' by Ref. Vangelis October 2005


October 24

Starting this week I have another novelty for you. I'd like to introduce you to one of the most important soccer figures in the Bay Area. The referee Vangelis Bolias who will answer your questions.

He has more than 30 years of soccer experience as a player, coach and referee at all levels of competition and played soccer in Greece with a number of semi-professional teams.
His career as a Referee started in the U.S. in 1986, when he went through the USSF Referee grades ranks as soon as all the necessary criteria and requirements were met and attained a National level grade 3 in 1993.

As an assistant referee he participated at MLS level and various international assignments such as Mexico Vs Sweden in 1994 and semifinals and finals of the CONCACAF league of championís competition in 1995.
After a knee injury in 1998 he became a National Emeritus referee grade13 and from there he has refereed at the top amateur level in the Bay area.

In waiting for your questions, I have asked him some of my own.

Ref. Vangelis,

Very often it happens that the ball hits the arm of a player who protects his body from a shot or in jumping backward or occasionally as a natural reaction. In that moment the opponent team begins to yell, "Hand ball, ref!Ē Could you explain in what circumstances it is a hand and when it's not? Coach Gianni

Answer: Moving hands or arms instinctively to protect the body when suddenly faced with a fast approaching ball does not constitute deliberate contact unless there is subsequent action to direct the ball once contact is made.

Law 12 states: A direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team when a player handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area).
The referee should punish only deliberate handling of the ball, meaning only those actions when the player (and not the goalkeeper within his own penalty area) strikes, carries or propels the ball with his hand or arm.

A ďdeliberate handballĒ means that the player could have avoided the touch but chose not to, and that the playerís arms were not in a normal playing position at the time, or that the player deliberately continued an initially accidental contact for the purpose of gaining an unfair advantage.

Handling the ball: Includes hands, fingertips, upper arm and outer shoulder.
Letís keep in mind that when a ball comes in contact with a playerís hand, half of the people on the field think that is a handball and the other half that it is not. Players and spectators must trust that the referee as the only impartial person on the field is in the best position to make the right call based on his opinion if the handball was deliberate or not when he observed the incident.
So when the decision by the referee is made, letís forget about the incident and get on with the game.

Ref. Vangelis


October 31

Last week I introduced Ref. Vangelis Bolias who will be answering your questions. In waiting for them he'll answer some of my own.

Ref. Vangelis,

Just a curiosity. In a game I recently saw, a defender made a throw-in to his keeper who, in that moment, was distracted. When he suddenly realized what was happening, he desperately tried to reach the ball with the result of pushing the ball into the net. The referee awarded a corner kick to the opponent team instead of giving the goal. Can you explain this and other similar situations in which the ball goes in a teamís own net and the goal is not given? - Coach Gianni

Answer

Law 15 states: A throw-in is a method of restarting play. A goal cannot be scored directly from a throw-in.
As we can see from the wording in law 15, neither team may score a goal directly from a throw-in. If the ball is thrown directly into a teamís own goal (with no intervening touch or play), the correct restart is a corner kick. If the ball is thrown directly into the opposing teamís goal, play is restarted with a goal kick.

The same is true in the case of a free kick (direct or indirect).
Law 13 states that if a free kick (direct or indirect) is kicked directly into the teamís own goal, a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team.
In both cases in Law 13 and 15 the key factor is that the ball was thrown or kicked directly into oneís own goal. The result in such a case is a corner kick.

It seems to me that if the incident in question is described accurately, the correct decision should have been a goal, because the ball touched the goalkeeper after the throw-in was taken. We must assume that the referee missed the touch by the goalkeeper and thought that the ball went directly into the net therefore awarding a corner kick to the opposing team.

Ref. Vangelis

0 Comments
Posted on 23 Nov 2005 by coachgianni
Content Management Powered by CuteNews